A Breeze Blowing Through

The other day I was sitting on the sofa across from a south facing window, in full lotus, getting ready to meditate. It’s usually an exercise in futility for me but sometimes I achieve a state of semi-peace. Nothing major.  I just sit.

As I sat there, not really into it yet, I thought about how my notion of God has changed over the years. I used to be very religious, grew up Catholic. But, over time, organized religion seemed to pinch, like shoes a little too small for my feet.

Gradually I left it behind. “Spiritual but not religious” became my new religion. Whatever encouraged me to open wide to love and life, to connect.  I meditate in order to immerse myself in something larger than myself, something I don’t understand. I’m part believer, part agnostic, part atheist. It’s not real comfortable living without certainties, but it’s where I’m at.

So as I sat facing the window, before closing my eyes, I opened myself to the “Universe,” not knowing to Whom or What, if anything, I was opening. Just then a breeze blew through the big green leaves of the trees right outside my window. And for that instant I knew.

About boomergirl47

Retired from the University of South Florida. Love reading, writing, hiking, nature, music, birding, puttering around the house and yard, doing things with my grandsons and spending time with my beau on his beautiful 22 acres in north central Florida.
This entry was posted in emotions, human interest, nature, poetry, psychology, relationships, spirituality. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Breeze Blowing Through

  1. They say that nirvana isn’t a permanent state, it comes and goes. Also I’m jealous. 🙂

    Like

  2. boomergirl47 says:

    When I need a little lift, I revisit that feeling I had when the breeze blew through. Just a taste of something. Your poetry springs from that same something methinks. 🙂

    Like

  3. You know I can relate to that, but the other thing is that for me, talking about the details of what I believe in a spiritual context always seemed wrong. It’s like I have to keep it to myself for it to be real. This is part of why my recent experience of being in mass was quite perturbing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

