The Puzzle

I’m putting together a jigsaw puzzle. What a time waster, huh. Pure self-indulgence. No one will benefit from it but me.  Sometimes I hear this little voice in my head saying, “You could be doing something productive; something helpful; you’re not a kid anymore.” Yada yada.  When I hear that little workaholic voice I say, “Enough!  I’m retired.”

I feel I’ve finally earned the right to do whatever the hell I want, or don’t want, to do. And I want to do this puzzle. Without guilt.  But with the world in such a mess shouldn’t I be saving the planet, feeding the hungry, washing my car?

Yet the puzzle isn’t entirely child’s play, it has some redeeming value. It teaches me patience, perseverance and self-control. There’ve been times I’ve wanted to throw it all overboard, sure that the one piece that’s eluding me is missing! Or when that one piece that really should fit, doesn’t. But I just keep slogging away. And I use that little self-improvement argument to shut up the annoying voice when it starts chirping.

Two and a half sides done. Yippee!  Those millions of all-white cloud pieces are going to be murder…

About boomergirl47

Retired from the University of South Florida. Love reading, writing, hiking, nature, music, birding, puttering around the house and yard, doing things with my grandsons and spending time with my beau on his beautiful 22 acres in north central Florida.
This entry was posted in emotions, health, human interest, humor, love, psychology, senior citizens, spirituality. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Puzzle

  1. I can really relate, although with me it’s more computer games. Even without the self-improvement justification, I say to myself “I give myself permission,” because we can be far too hard on ourselves. Admittedly I do it fairly often with various activities 😀 but at least like a good Buddhist, I’m aware that I’m doing it. Mind you, they say that if you want a real challenge you should do jigsaw puzzles upside down. I haven’t tried that.

    Like

  2. boomergirl47 says:

    Upside down? Believe me, I’m stretched enough right side up! 🙂 Just ordered another puzzle. My boyfriend claims it won’t be long b4 I’m into bingo and shuffleboard!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

