Angry Birds!

It started all of a sudden.
A blue jay brouhaha right
outside the living room window.
Five or six angry birds in full combat,
screeching and dive-bombing
for all they were worth.
A cat skulking too near a nest?
My son and I peered through
the window to see what we
could see.
Nothing.
No cat. No nest.
Just angry birds squawking their
heads off at some invisible threat.
Soon, a meow at the door and
the invisible threat walked in,
looking dazed.
The screeching stopped.
The cat plopped on the floor
and fell asleep.
The war was over.

About boomergirl47

Retired from the University of South Florida. Love reading, writing, hiking, nature, music, birding, puttering around the house and yard, doing things with my grandsons and spending time with my beau on his beautiful 22 acres in north central Florida.
This entry was posted in birds, family, human interest, humor, mother, nature, pets, poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Angry Birds!

  1. Engaging descriptive piece BG ❤ . I've watched cats playing with their prey, releasing and pouncing again and again, and here in Aus feral cats are a threat to native animals. But because of the way you've written it, I find myself on the feline side. I guess it just shows how illogical we can be 🙂 .

    Like

  2. boomergirl47 says:

    Thanks, Steve. I felt sorry for the poor guy. He’s quite the little predator, but that’s nature’s way, and I think he lost that war. Glad you enjoyed it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

