The Vernal Equinox and a Baby Brother

I’m so full of memories these days. A sure sign I’m getting up there.

Today is the vernal equinox. My older son, TJ, just sent me a photo of the rising sun from his car.

It took me back to an afternoon thirty-three years ago. I was waiting for  him and his sisters to come home from school. The bus would be letting them off at the end of the street any minute.

Their three-day-old baby brother, fresh from the maternity ward and cuddly as a bunny rabbit in his fleecy outfit, was sound asleep in his white wicker bassinette in the living room, ready for display.

I could hear youthful voices coming closer to the house, yelling “Hurry up, TJ!!”  In flew twelve-year old Jennifer and eleven-year old Amy, in their blue plaid jumpers, ready to adore this little bundle of joy they’d been waiting for almost as expectantly as I.

And then, in came eight-year-old TJ, not accustomed to running long distances, his gangly legs carrying him as fast as they would go. I can remember, as if it were happening right this minute, how his face lit up the room when he looked into that bassinette.

 

About boomergirl47

Retired from the University of South Florida. Love reading, writing, hiking, nature, music, birding, puttering around the house and yard, doing things with my grandsons and spending time with my beau on his beautiful 22 acres in north central Florida.
This entry was posted in children, emotions, family, human interest, love, mother, nostalgia, poetry, psychology, relationships, senior citizens, women. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Vernal Equinox and a Baby Brother

  1. Patricia says:

    ❤❤❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

