Let’s Hear it for HSPs

Just back from a workshop for Highly Sensitive People, or HSP’s as we’re commonly called these days.  I learned I’m an off-the-chart HSP. I checked off every “symptom” on the list, including tender feelings. I’m like a Stradivarius. I can make beautiful music but I need lots of tuning!

Not all HSPs are created equal, but we’re often introverts and make up only 20% of the population, so it’s easy for us to feel undervalued. Even useless. Practicality isn’t our strong suit– introspection, caring and creativity are, to mention just a few. We’re easily overstimulated, given to anxiety and strong emotions.

But, with a little help, the facilitator promised us, we can stake our claim to happiness and success just like the more robust types.  We’re the writers, artists, dancers, philosophers, mystics, healers and poets. Softies. Dreamers. Deep thinkers.

It’s pretty easy to understand why these types might be considered expendable by the mainstream. What do they have to do with putting food in your belly? Running a corporation? Creating jobs? I’m not going to badmouth the more robust types. God knows we need them to do what we’re not cut out for. But our soft touch is very much needed to do what they can’t.

Winnie the Pooh Author, A.A. Milne

Winnie the Pooh Author,
A.A. Milne

About boomergirl47

Retired from the University of South Florida. Love reading, writing, hiking, nature, music, birding, puttering around the house and yard, doing things with my grandsons and spending time with my beau on his beautiful 22 acres in north central Florida.
This entry was posted in beauty, emotions, health, human interest, love, poetry, psychology, relationships, spirituality, women. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Let’s Hear it for HSPs

  1. Jodi Desciscio says:

    So well said! I feel understood…and that’s important for us HSP’s. Thanks Cece.

    Like

  2. Oh noes. Now I’m feeling useless because I’m not sensitive. Oh well, I knew I was an engineer for a reason 😉 .

    Like

  3. boomergirl47 says:

    Haha. Physics dudes are some of the deeeeeepest of thinkers. I know. I bore one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

