Coming to Terms with the Tragic

I was watching a documentary about the 1993 Branch Davidian tragedy in Waco, TX last night. I watched as a moth drawn to a flame, knowing this probably wasn’t a good choice right before bedtime. But I had a need to know.

When the actual event took place I was a frazzled, overworked single mom of four trying to hang onto my sanity. I didn’t watch the news back then. I’d heard about Branch Davidian, but didn’t need or want the details. It was just BAD. And I had enough BAD in my life already.

But now I’m retired and my life is pretty nice. The kids are grown up and doing okay for the most part. So I feel the need to know what happened when I was tuned out, and I watch the news and Frontline and PBS documentaries and am getting caught up on what I missed.

I have to take breaks now and then though, because it can be overwhelming. So much of history is tragic. So much of what’s happening right now is tragic. And it affects me. How can it not? The bloodshed, the insanity, the tyranny, the outright barbarity and destructiveness. We humans can be very ignorant, deluded and downright inhuman.

So, how to come to terms with this I ask myself? How do I avoid sticking my head in the sand so as not to become thoroughly discouraged?

This is what I came up with. I’m an idealist. My glossy expectations trip me up. I think things should be the way I think they should be. But they’re not. Maybe man is evolving. Maybe. But humans are very imperfect, and in varying stages of maturity.  To quote Florence Snyder, a Tallahassee lawyer, in an article from Politics Florida, “You can’t take human nature out of human nature.”

That’s just how it is. I can do some things to make a difference, I can pay attention to the beauty when it shows itself, I can distract myself from the ugliness, I can rant, I can try to love, love, love instead of hate, hate, hate. But what I cannot do is eradicate the tragic.

About boomergirl47

Retired from the University of South Florida. Love reading, writing, hiking, nature, music, birding, puttering around the house and yard, doing things with my grandsons and spending time with my beau on his beautiful 22 acres in north central Florida.
This entry was posted in emotions, evil, human interest, psychology, spirituality. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Coming to Terms with the Tragic

  1. Right through to the conclusion, spot on, BG ❤ . I still have Jonestown stuck in my mind, but I try too, see the other side, write about the brightness everywhere, and I think part of it is fear that if I go the other way, I might not come back.

    Like

  2. boomergirl47 says:

    Life is such a mixed bag. That seems like oversimplification, but it really is. They say it takes 5 good things to equal a bad one, so the bad seems to be winning but goodness and beauty are there, too. In us as well as the world. Thanks for contributing your beauty to it. And your humor. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

