Sleepless Night

In the wee hours of the night I sometimes get stuck in my head. Spinning in loops of everything and nothing. Where’s the off switch?

It’s then that I notice I’m hungry and, yeah, a little lonely. So I go to the kitchen and stare in the fridge, check out Facebook, listen to the silent walls awhile, then climb back in my empty bed.

Maybe sleep will finally come, and drive away the absence.

About boomergirl47

Retired from the University of South Florida. Love reading, writing, hiking, nature, music, birding, puttering around the house and yard, doing things with my grandsons and spending time with my beau on his beautiful 22 acres in north central Florida.
This entry was posted in emotions, human interest, poetry, relationships, spirituality. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sleepless Night

  1. “Loops of everything and nothing” is a great way to put it. I’ve found meditation helps. As you expressed it so clearly, we can’t not think, no off switch, but we can let go. I try to notice whatever arises without getting involved, just body, breathing, and when I get stuck in a loop, notice that as well and gently come back to the present. Not saying I succeed, mind you 🙂 .

    Like

Leave a Reply

