Just Like my Dad

On my balmy morning walk I passed a gray-haired gentleman bending over one of many piles of shrub trimmings by the side of the road. It was the day after our neighborhood’s weekly trash pick-up.

“Someone’s been busy!” I tossed at him on my way by.

He straightened up and replied benignly,  “Yeah, I guess we didn’t do it right. I had a young boy helping me and he just threw them out here without tying them up. They didn’t take it.”

Then he bent back over his pile, patiently knotting the string he’d tied around it.

“But we’ll get it right,” he said, good-naturedly.

In that very instant, the gray-haired man was transformed into my long-gone father. Who would have said exactly the same thing in the same way.

 

About boomergirl47

Retired from the University of South Florida. Love reading, writing, hiking, nature, music, birding, puttering around the house and yard, doing things with my grandsons and spending time with my beau on his beautiful 22 acres in north central Florida.
This entry was posted in emotions, family, human interest, love, nostalgia, poetry, psychology, relationships, senior citizens, spirituality. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

