Walk Therapy

There’s a lot to be said for being “present.” In your body, your senses. I spend way too much time in my head. So I’ve been trying to be more mindful when I’m doing something, pay attention to the task at hand.

But, having said that, I find that I solve a lot of problems when I’m taking my morning walk.  Sure, the birds are out and I hear them and I’m always pleasantly aware of my park-like surroundings. I notice the dogs, cats, dogs, people. But nagging little issues seem to bubble to the surface when I’m walking.

Relationship issues? Usually prime breeding ground whether it’s current boyfriend, child, sibling–you name it. I’m the kind of person who tends to stuff things. If someone says something problematic, I ignore it, without even realizing I am. A clever way to avoid conflict. But then later it comes knocking and I wonder why I didn’t say something at the time.

When I’m walking is a perfect time to “unpack it,” decide if I want to bring it back up or let it go. This works with world class problems, too.  Sometimes I’ll ponder a disturbing bit of news and find a way to deal with it. Do something, change something, just accept it?

Maybe some day I won’t have any issues to unpack. I’ll just be able to listen to the birds, look at the trees, say hi to the dogs and cats and people. Have a really mindful walk.

Until then, I’ll just keep solving my problems, and those of the world, one step at a time.

walkng-shoes

 

 

About boomergirl47

Retired from the University of South Florida. Love reading, writing, hiking, nature, music, birding, puttering around the house and yard, doing things with my grandsons and spending time with my beau on his beautiful 22 acres in north central Florida.
This entry was posted in emotions, health, human interest, psychology, relationships, spirituality, Uncategorized, women. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Walk Therapy

  1. Patricia says:

    Coco, oh how I love your thoughts!! Buy the book, The Artist’s Way. Morning pages may be just what you need! It’s more fun to use the book with friends. We have done the twelve chapters in twelve weeks. Leads to some interesting conversation!

    Like

  2. Patricia says:

    Cici, not Coco!! 😂😂😂😂😂

    Like

  3. boomergirl47 says:

    Thanks! I’ll check it out. Ceci

    Like

Leave a Reply

