A Mother’s Love

I just watched a movie based on a true story. “The Rabbit Proof Fence.” About mother love so strong that it made three little girls walk 1500 miles in the Australian Outback to be reunited with theirs. It was heartbreaking and beautiful and I just surrendered to the pathos of it.

The pathos of a life so cruel it would tear those little girls away from their mother in order to “civilize” them, but so beautiful it gave them the strength of spirit to overcome seemingly impossible odds.

The heartrending reunion scene showed the crying mother caressing the girls’ faces as if they were the most precious things in all of creation. As if the dead had been brought back to life.

It made me want to grab my children close, to cover them with kisses and let them know how fiercely loved they are.

Rabbit-Proof_Fence_movie_poster

About boomergirl47

Retired from the University of South Florida. Love reading, writing, hiking, nature, music, birding, puttering around the house and yard, doing things with my grandsons and spending time with my beau on his beautiful 22 acres in north central Florida.
This entry was posted in beauty, children, emotions, human interest, love, mother, relationships, sadness, spirituality, women. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Mother’s Love

  1. Patricia says:

    ❤️❤️❤️

    Like

  2. ZurkPoetry says:

    I remember watching this when I was little, my friends and I re-enacted the epic walk along the fences in the backyard 😊 I haven’t thought about that for years! I should find that movie again 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

