Who Am I, Anyway?

Will the real me
please stand up?
Wife. Daughter.
Sister. Mother.
A sugarcoated sweetie-pie
afraid to look life in the eye.
Trying to be everything
to everyone. People-pleaser
extraordinaire!
Now it’s time to find out
what I’m all about.
It’s time to free the me
that is ME!
splits in air

PS: I wrote this at the age of 39. In the 30 years since, I have found ME!  May still be a few missing pieces left to discover before the fat lady sings though. 🙂 

About boomergirl47

Retired from the University of South Florida. Love reading, writing, hiking, nature, music, birding, puttering around the house and yard, doing things with my grandsons and spending time with my beau on his beautiful 22 acres in north central Florida.
This entry was posted in emotions, human interest, mother, poetry, psychology, relationships, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Who Am I, Anyway?

  1. mirrorgirl says:

    It’s good to know that we never quite ‘find’ ourselves, as that means that we can learn and change what we want. Identity is not static, but malleable.

    Like

Leave a Reply

