Strolling Down Memory Lane

I’ve been going through old notebooks. The highs and lows of my life for the past 30+ years. I’m a die-hard journal-keeper. I document everything I do, see, think or feel!  Got rid of the stuff I don’t want the kids to see. Kept the good stuff for my memoirs.

It’s been fun. Like putting the pieces of a jigsaw puzzle together. The Big Picture.  There’s a comfortable equanimity about it. My boyfriend says, “Why look back?”  I say, “Why not?”  I like seeing the progress. I like re-visiting the woman I used to be: the young mother, the new divorcée navigating her way through the scary world of dating, the bout with a debilitating physical condition, the religious phase.

I’m mining the gems of my Past and looking at it through a gentle lens.  Compassion and even tender admiration for things endured and conquered, for weaknesses, for remorse, for just being a beautiful, slightly fucked-up human being.

Now that I’m in my Autumn years, there’s way more past to remember than future to anticipate. And there’s some satisfaction in having gotten this far. So going through my past feels a little like a quiet celebration, a tidying up of things, a senior-citizen coming-of-age ritual.

memory lane fence

 

About boomergirl47

Retired from the University of South Florida. Love reading, writing, hiking, nature, music, birding, puttering around the house and yard, doing things with my grandsons and spending time with my beau on his beautiful 22 acres in north central Florida.
This entry was posted in beauty, emotions, human interest, love, nostalgia, psychology, relationships, spirituality and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Strolling Down Memory Lane

  1. Patricia says:

    “Beautiful and slightly fucked up . . . “. That says it all about all of us!! ❤️

    Like

  2. boomergirl47 says:

    Just a matter of degree! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

