Me and the Lizard

I’m sitting on my front porch on a perfect spring day, with some stuff to read piled on the old bench that I also have my feet propped up on.

So I’m reading, and suddenly I see a little lizard plopped on top of my slick American Government book, in the sun. A few inches away from me, just sitting there sideways. I watch him and–I swear–he looked me in the eye with one of his eyes. It was honest to God eye contact for several seconds. With a lizard. I keep watching, not wanting to break the spell, and next thing I know he’s hopped from the bench to my seat cushion and onto my thigh.  I think he’s a boy lizard.

He’s just sitting there nonchalant-like and I’m afraid to move or breathe too hard because I’ve never had a lizard on me before and it’s kind of neat. This little creature sitting on me like some kind of pet. It felt good. May be an exaggeration to say we bonded, but something like that. He wasn’t afraid. Neither was I, although I wasn’t sure how far he was going to take this.

He just stayed there pretty still for about thirty seconds, then hopped back onto the seat cushion and bellied over to the edge of it, arms and legs splayed. I thought he was going to take a nap there, for God knows how long, and I’d be trapped. But I had to move at last and he jumped back to the bench.

I can’t be 100% sure, but I could almost swear he gave me a backwards glance before taking off.

About boomergirl47

Retired from the University of South Florida. Love reading, writing, hiking, nature, music, birding, puttering around the house and yard, doing things with my grandsons and spending time with my beau on his beautiful 22 acres in north central Florida.
This entry was posted in beauty, emotions, human interest, humor, nature, pets, poetry, psychology, relationships, spirituality and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Me and the Lizard

  1. Sarah says:

    You are one brave woman and just for not screaming to blue heaven, you deserve applause. The scene would have played out so differently if it were me in your place.

    Like

  2. boomergirl47 says:

    Sarah, you won’t believe this. I was working in the yard earlier today and a lizard surprised me by jumping on the back of my leg! I let out a holler this time! And a few choice words! What a coincidence that you commented on my lizard post, and the very same day I had another “lizard incident.” 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

