Some Christmas Thoughts

As I write this, it’s Christmas Eve eve. The Florida sky is overcast. It’s warm and humid. Highs in the mid-80s. Most un-Christmas like. Doesn’t Mother Nature know I like my Christmases cold and crisp?

Other than the decidedly un-Arctic weather, this promises to be a very nice Christmas for me. My youngest son, living in Texas now, and whom I haven’t laid eyes on in two years is bringing his sweetheart to meet us. At 31, he’s finally found his “dream girl.”

And it’s exactly one year since my other son moved in with me. He entered the revolving door emotionally battered, his light very dim. It’s been a year of struggle and growth, but he’s got a roof over his head while he gets the train back on the track. Hope springs eternal.

And it wouldn’t be Christmas without my three grandsons bursting through the door with big grins and Christmas hugs. Got an email from the youngest this morning: “Can’t wait to see you and everyone, Grandma!”

Yeah, it’s going to be a good Christmas. I’ve dusted, scrubbed and mopped till I can’t find another dirty spot to clean. The stick-on snowflakes are on the kitchen window, the gifts are wrapped, the stockings hung, Christmas cards from faraway friends keep rolling in with happy wishes.

But there are times when I’ve been tempted to become a Scroogette.  All the hype, hassle, hurry-scurry, jingle-jangle, extra things to add to an already overloaded to-do list threatened to overwhelm.  Somewhere along the line I decided to keep Christmas simple.  I decorate 12 days before Christmas, and my 30″ pre-decorated,  plug-in Christmas tree is a miracle of ease and efficiency.  No cookie baking.  And for Christmas day, good quality cold cuts.  Easy breezy.  And maybe next Christmas I can even cut back on the scrubbing.

And then there’s the state of our poor world in these troubled times. Every morning my radio alarm wakes me with news of killings, bombings, brutality, all seemingly senseless.   How can one be merry with all the suffering going on out there?  But there will always be suffering and tragedy in the world. Maybe that’s why we celebrate.  Maybe it’s to shake our fist at the evilness and say, “You’re not going to have the last word!”  Whatever the reason,  for the next few days I’m going to put all that out of my mind, focus on the love right under my nose and have a very Merry Christmas!

I wish the same for all of you who celebrate this holiday.

merry-christmas

 

 

About boomergirl47

Retired from the University of South Florida. Love reading, writing, hiking, nature, music, birding, puttering around the house and yard, doing things with my grandsons and spending time with my beau on his beautiful 22 acres in north central Florida.
This entry was posted in Christmas, human interest, relationships, spirituality, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Some Christmas Thoughts

  1. mariafafard says:

    I enjoyed reading your Christmas essays very much, both 2014 and 2015 incarnations . What a lovely writing voice you have, pensive, reflective and gentle…

    Like

Leave a Reply

