Polarities

Poet Adrienne Rich writes of her polarities
in a piece called Integrity.
“Anger and tenderness: my selves.
And now I can believe they breathe in me
as angels, not polarities.”

My polarities will not talk,
they’re like a stubborn Congress
at odds, arms folded, looking outward
with staunch backs.
My polarities are anima/animus,
male/female, Independent Spirit/Romantic.
The Independent One fights for freedom,
suspicious of men, untrusting, protective.
Her adversary, the Romantic,
bows before her lover in
sweetness and benediction: his goddess,
his whore.

Oh, these two give me fits with their
contrariness, the one sabotaging the other
in spite and desperation.
And I, the tired referee, who just wants
peace and a man whom I can love without
all their drama.
Adrienne is lucky. Where are my angels?

About boomergirl47

Retired from the University of South Florida. Love reading, writing, hiking, nature, music, birding, puttering around the house and yard, doing things with my grandsons and spending time with my beau on his beautiful 22 acres in north central Florida.
This entry was posted in emotions, human interest, poetry, relationships, romance. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Polarities

  1. yasniger says:

    Reblogged this on Yas Niger and commented:
    Cool Poem….

    Like

Leave a Reply

