Bird Man

It all started with a ten dollar wood bird feeder I bought my boyfriend. I knew just where to hang it – in a leafy tree in front of his porch. I brought some bird seed to put in it and hung it up. It looked nice. Now the birds just had to find it.

The next time I was there, I saw it’d been moved. He’d attached some perches to it and hung it by some long wire from a tree nearby. Better view of it there. The birds had discovered it and were making regular visits. Mostly beautiful red cardinals.

The next time I came by, he’d added a tubular feeder and a red hummingbird feeder and a little watering station for them. A regular bird emporium! You could get a good look at everything from the front door or the big dining room window. I often saw him standing there, just watching them.

The best part was the hummingbirds. I wasn’t sure he’d have any luck with the hummingbird feeders but they found it right away! He said one of them hovered right by his head one morning when he was changing the nectar. He gave me a red tee-shirt and told me to put it on and stand by the feeder; hummingbirds love red. He had his camera ready. I stood there for several minutes, hoping–but no luck.

Then later, when I was sitting in my little chair on the front porch reading, I heard a whirring sound. I looked up and there they were– two hummies headed for the feeder! Two of them! It was the first time I’d ever heard the sound of hummingbird wings.

I never thought this busy man of mine would take to the little birds like he did. I just thought it’d be nice for him to have a bird feeder. But he took the idea and ran with it. He’s spread real thin between his work-at-home job and keeping up with his 22 acres–and rarely takes any time for himself–but he takes time out to watch the little birds. Who’d a thunk it.

bird emporium

About boomergirl47

Retired from the University of South Florida. Love reading, writing, hiking, nature, music, birding, puttering around the house and yard, doing things with my grandsons and spending time with my beau on his beautiful 22 acres in north central Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bird Man

Leave a Reply

