The First Time

The other day I went through an automatic car wash for the first time ever. I was a little apprehensive when I saw the long list of instructions; anything over two I have trouble with. But I’d already paid my three dollars and wasn’t about to back out.

I punched in my five-digit number correctly, pulled in my side view mirrors, sucked down the antenna and battened the hatches. Now all I had to do was drive in slowly until I felt the wheels “drop” (surely I’d notice something like that?), put the car in park or neutral and put on the emergency brake.

I drove in slowly, and sure enough, felt the wheels drop. Suddenly I was assaulted by sheets of very noisy water. No problem. Water is to be expected in a car wash. Then suddenly the car started moving forward. God– had I put on the emergency brakes? No! I yanked them on, but still the car moved. Maybe it was supposed to. The noise was deafening. All of a sudden the battering water stopped and huge blue, shaggy things came at me. I had definitely gotten my three dollar’s worth and was ready to call it quits, but the big blue things were still attacking.

Finally they retreated, I heard a hissing sound, and saw that I was being sprayed back and forth. As soon as I got used to being sprayed, a flashing green light told me to drive slowly through some hanging appendage that looked like it could knock the heck out of my windshield. I drove through at 1 mph, then made a break for it.

As I headed for home, I decided I ought to do this again next week!

About boomergirl47

Retired from the University of South Florida. Love reading, writing, hiking, nature, music, birding, puttering around the house and yard, doing things with my grandsons and spending time with my beau on his beautiful 22 acres in north central Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The First Time

  1. Patricia says:

    Ceci – I love this!! Sorry that I am just reading your Christmas letter rather than just looking at the pictures!! Good for you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

